WIFTV Keeps Women in Genre Film Alive with Winners of From Our Dark Side Competition Year 6

Women in Film and Television Vancouver (WIFTV) is proud to announce the five winners of our sixth annual From Our Dark Side genre concept competition.

Winners receive a cash prize as well as a six-month incubator program designed to take their projects to the next stage of development. A highlight of the program is full accreditation to the Frontières International Co-Production Market in Montreal where the winners will pitch their projects to national and international industry professionals as part of Frontières’ new initiative, “Created By Women.”

Prior to pitching at Frontieres, the winners attend the 2020 Vancouver International Women in Film Festival in March where they will have workshops and consultations with genre creators, producers, story editors, a pitching coach and a digital marketing strategist.

This year’s From Our Dark Side winners will be presented with their prizes at the VIWFF Awards Ceremony. Congratulations to the winners:

  • Cold Snap, Selaine Henriksen (ON)
  • A Better Brain, Julia Rowland, Kristy La Pointe (ON)
  • Lights, Camera, Paranormal Action!, Cat Girczyc (BC)
  • Mama D’Lo, Lauren Marsden (BC)
  • Sparrow/Nel Dzay Ya, Marie Clements (BC)

WIFTV is grateful for the support from Super Channel, Telefilm Canada and Creative BC. Thank you to our judges — Producer Rupert Harvey, Lindsay Duncan and Vanessa Meyers from the Frontieres International Co-Production Market, Andrew Step and Anelle Dehghani from Raven Banner Entertainment, Producer Maureen Levitt, Screenwriter Glynis Whiting and David Turko of Reality Distortion Field.

Jury selection was very difficult this year, with many strong applications. Congratulations to our ten finalists:

  • Babygirl, Heather Thompson (BC)
  • Breeder, Nicole R Slaunwhite (NS)
  • Cerebral, Nadine Brito (ON)
  • Frank, Stephanie Izsak (BC)
  • Prayers for Dawn, Ana Carrizales (BC)
  • She Bleeds Everywhere, Heidi Burrowes (ON)
  • The Floaters, Lisa Rose Snow (NS)
  • The Hazelmere Manor, Avalon Fast (BC)
  • The Last Orca, Heather Hatch (AB)
  • Three Rivers: Uncle Doug, Isabel Arias and Tracey Power (BC)

The contest was developed by WIFTV’s Advocacy Committee, chaired by Sharon McGowan. The committee’s goal is to increase opportunities for women in the Canadian Screen Industries through lobbying and organizing. Congratulations to this year’s winners and their projects