VIWFF Celebrates Festival Award Winners on International Women’s Day

The Vancouver International Women in Film Festival (VIWFF) wrapped six packed and wonderful film-filled days with a sold-out Awards Gala on March 8th, International Women’s Day. We are very pleased to announce the following awards and their winners:

The Ken Hayward Award for the VIWFF International Screenplay Competition

  • Small Fires Fiona Curtis

The Matrix Awards for the top three BC shorts

  • Who Am I, Adhel Arop
  • The Evening Thread, Iris Moore
  • Now is the Time, Christopher Auchter

The Integral Artists Impact Award

  • Unceded Chiefs, Doreen Manuel.

The Ron Heaps Award for Best Editing in a Short

  • Sarah Hedar, Now Is the Time.

The ICG 669 Award for Best Cinematography in a Short

  • Joanna Kakitek, Border Crossing.

The Lucas Talent Award for Best Performance in a Short

  • Berenice Piñeros, Amalgama.

The Elevate Inclusion Strategies Award for Best Short

  • Egg Martina, Scarpelli.

The CFM Award for Best Musical Score

  • Ella van der Woude, Take Me Somewhere Nice.

The CCE Award for Best Editing in a Feature

  • Sophie Leblond, Black Conflux.

The CFA Award for Best Screenplay

  • Marie Clements, Red Snow

The SIM Award for Best Cinematography in a Feature

  • Marie Davigno, Black Conflux.

The UBCP/ACTRA Award for Best Performance in a Feature

  • Jia-Yin Tsai, Heavy Craving.

The DGC BC Award for Best Direction

  • Marie Clements, Red Snow

The PACIFIC BACKLOT Award for Best Documentary

  • Be Natural, Pamela Green.

The IATSE Local 891 Award for Best Feature

  • Red Snow, Marie Clements.

VIWFF is especially grateful to our hard-working awards jury: Kat Jayme – Producer/Director; Jules Arita Koostachin – Producer/Director; Jamie Chrest – Actor/Production Designer; Meghan Hemingway – Writer/Actor; Brianna Rayner – Actor and Marena Dix – Producer/Post Production Coordinator.


VIWFF is grateful for the support of: The Department of Canadian Heritage, BC Arts Council, Telefilm Canada, Creative BC, City of Vancouver, CMPA-BC, Capilano University, UBCP, CCE, CFM, Chandler Fogden Aldous, DGC BC, Georgia Straight, IATSE 891, ICG 669, Line 21, Matrix Production Services, Pacific Backlot, Ron Heaps, Ken Hayward, Sandman Hotel, TELUS, Sim, Super Channel, ACFC, Elevate Inclusion Strategies, Integral Artists, Lucas Talent and Bridge Studios.