Women In Film and Television Vancouver (WIFTV) announced today the top ten Official Selections in the Vancouver International Women in Film Festival Screenplay Competition. Now in its seventh year, the competition is committed to celebrating and recognizing women screenwriters, in pursuit of equal participation in writing for screen-based media.

The 2021 competition builds on the success of its continuing sponsorship by the ISA – International Screenwriters Association, with the highest number of submissions received in the competition’s history. New for this year is a TV pilot script category, in addition to the feature screenplay category.

Screenplay submissions were received primarily from women writers from across Canada and the USA, as well as from Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand.

Congratulations to the Ten Finalists (alphabetical by last name):

  • Isobel Bradbury – Exes and Ohs – Feature (USA)
  • Morgan Brayton – Flannery & Flannery – TV Pilot (Canada)
  • Kaili Capito – Regression – Feature (USA)
  • Charlotte Daniel – We Were Never Meant to Survive – Feature (UK)
  • Helen Doremus – Romanza – Feature (USA)
  • Tihemme Gagnon – PB&J – Feature (Canada)
  • Arielle Haller-Silverstone – Family Politics – TV Pilot (USA)
  • Lulu Keating – Klondike Kalahari – Feature (Canada)
  • Nubia Rahim – Pedal Power – Feature (USA)
  • Isabella Vergun – Sean Glick F*cks the World – Feature (USA)

Official Selections receive a prize package that includes full festival accreditation to the upcoming virtual 16th annual Vancouver International Women in Film Festival, taking place in March 2021. The first place screenwriter will receive the VIWFF Screenplay Competition Award for Best Screenplay, which includes a cash prize, to be announced at the festival. Submissions for the next competition intake are slated to open in the summer of 2021, via FilmFreeway.

For more information about the competition visit VIWFF FilmFreeway.